Skip to main content
Print

DOE 1 et al. v. Fekkai et al.: Southern District of New York, 2026

Seven Epstein survivors allege that Frédéric Fekkai, his company, and salon employee Patrick Coombs helped Epstein use beauty services as a means of appearance control and grooming. The defendants deny wrongdoing, and no court has decided the allegations.


Snapshot

Case name: DOE 1 et al. v. Fekkai et al.

State court caption: Jane Doe 1, Jane Doe 2, Jane Doe 3, Jane Doe 4, Jane Doe 5, Kersti Ferguson and Audra Christiansen v. Frederic Fekkai, Frederic Fekkai & Co, L.L.C., and Patrick Coombs

Court: United States District Court for the Southern District of New York

Original court: Supreme Court of the State of New York, New York County

Jurisdiction: State civil action removed to federal court

Federal docket number: 1:26-cv-07655

State index number: The public copy of the complaint reviewed for this article showed the index number as unassigned. The federal notice of removal should be checked for the later state index number.

State complaint received: September 1, 2026

Federal removal filed: September 8, 2026

September 22 procedural status: The September 22, 2026 order refers to plaintiffs’ notice of dismissal and a Rule 41(d) application.

Case type: Civil lawsuit under the New York City Victims of Gender Motivated Violence Protection Law

Judicial officer: The September 22, 2026 order was signed by U.S. Magistrate Judge Robyn F. Tarnofsky.

Plaintiffs: Five women proceeding as Jane Does, Kersti Ferguson, and Audra Christiansen

Defendants: Frédéric Fekkai, Frédéric Fekkai & Co, L.L.C., and Patrick Coombs

Plaintiffs’ counsel: Jordan K. Merson and Jennifer C. Plotkin of Merson Law, PLLC

Claim: Enabling gender motivated violence under New York City Administrative Code section 10 1101 and following sections

Relief requested: Compensatory damages, punitive damages, declaratory and injunctive relief, attorney fees, costs, and other relief the court considers appropriate

Outcome caution: A notice of dismissal is referenced in the September 22 order. That order alone does not establish the notice’s scope, prejudice terms, or the disposition of the Rule 41(d) application.

Public complaint: September 1, 2026 verified complaint

Federal docket summary: PACER Monitor, case 1:26-cv-07655

Earlier related docket: Doe 1 et al. v. Fekkai et al., case 1:26-cv-04717

Evidence grade: Grade A for the existence, date, parties, claim, and contents of the complaint. Grade A for the June docket and voluntary dismissal. Grade B for independently verified EFTA emails, receipts, and testimony records. The liability allegations remain disputed and unadjudicated.

Content warning: This page discusses sexual abuse, trafficking, alleged grooming, and the exploitation of minors. It preserves the Jane Doe pseudonyms and omits unnecessary addresses and identifying details.

Key takeaway: The public record proves that seven plaintiffs filed a civil enabling claim and that Epstein’s staff repeatedly used Fekkai salons for appointments, payments, and meetings. It does not yet prove that any defendant knowingly enabled abuse. That question is the subject of the lawsuit.


Key Takeaways

  • The September lawsuit is separate from the June action. It adds Kersti Ferguson, Audra Christiansen, and Patrick Coombs, narrows the business defendant to Frédéric Fekkai & Co, L.L.C., and presents a new complaint.
  • The complaint alleges that Epstein sent the plaintiffs to Fekkai salons and directed how their hair should be styled so they would appear younger and conform to his preferences.
  • The sole pleaded count alleges enabling gender motivated violence. The complaint does not charge the defendants with a crime, and it does not itself establish civil liability.
  • Direct Epstein Data records support the narrower proposition that Fekkai salons were repeatedly integrated into Epstein’s scheduling and payment system. They include appointments for women, services with a stylist named Patrick, payments through Epstein’s account, and a 2014 instruction directing a visitor to meet Epstein at the salon.
  • The public record also contains sworn testimony from Johanna Sjoberg about hearing Epstein ask whether someone could find girls for Fekkai in Hawaii. The testimony records what Sjoberg said she heard. It does not establish that Fekkai knew of the statement or that anyone acted on it.
  • Sarah Kellen separately alleged before Congress that Fekkai assaulted her and introduced her to Epstein. Fekkai denies both allegations. House members referred the matter to the Justice Department, but a referral is not a charge or finding.
  • Fekkai’s representatives say the allegations are false, that he knew nothing about Epstein’s trafficking, and that salon records cannot show whether he knew the identities of people served by a large business.
  • The case is at its beginning. No judge or jury has resolved the factual disputes.

Case Overview

On September 1, 2026, five anonymous plaintiffs, Kersti Ferguson, and Audra Christiansen submitted a verified complaint in New York County Supreme Court against celebrity hairstylist Frédéric Fekkai, Frédéric Fekkai & Co, L.L.C., and salon employee Patrick Coombs. The complaint demands a jury trial and asserts one civil claim under New York City’s Victims of Gender Motivated Violence Protection Law.

The case asks a difficult and specific question. Can a commercial service provider be held civilly responsible when survivors allege that ordinary looking services were knowingly used as part of a larger system of control and abuse?

The plaintiffs say the answer is yes. They allege that Epstein sent them to Fekkai salons, controlled the services they received, and used changes to their appearance as part of his grooming and coercion. They further allege that the defendants knew the purpose of those services and collaborated with Epstein.

The defendants dispute that account. Fekkai’s public response says he did nothing wrong, did not know about Epstein’s trafficking, and cannot identify whether any survivor was among the many clients served by hundreds of salon employees. Reporting on the September 8 removal notice states that the defense also contests whether the Patrick appearing in Epstein related records is the defendant Patrick Coombs and argues that parts of the pleaded timeline do not fit.

The action was removed to the Southern District of New York on September 8, 2026. Public docket summaries identify the federal case as 1:26-cv-07655. Removal changes the forum. It is not a ruling on the truth of the complaint.

This page follows the Epstein Files Evidence Framework and the maxim: Connection is not culpability; classify by sources.


Parties

The plaintiffs

The plaintiffs are Jane Doe 1, Jane Doe 2, Jane Doe 3, Jane Doe 4, Jane Doe 5, Kersti Ferguson, and Audra Christiansen. The complaint identifies the Jane Does only by pseudonym and gives limited details necessary to state the claim.

The complaint alleges that Epstein committed gender motivated violence against each plaintiff and that the defendants enabled that conduct. It dates the alleged harm as follows:

  • Jane Doe 1 beginning in approximately 2004, when she was about eighteen
  • Jane Doe 2 beginning in approximately 2006, when she was about seventeen
  • Jane Doe 3 beginning in approximately 2007, when she was about nineteen
  • Jane Doe 4 beginning in approximately 2001, when she was about twenty
  • Jane Doe 5 beginning in approximately 2004, when she was about nineteen
  • Kersti Ferguson beginning in approximately 1996, when she was about sixteen, with alleged effects and conduct continuing thereafter
  • Audra Christiansen beginning in approximately 2004, when she was about twenty four

These statements are allegations in the complaint. EpsteinWiki does not attempt to identify the Jane Doe plaintiffs and does not reproduce their addresses or other unnecessary personal data. That treatment is consistent with Privacy Safeguards for Minors and the site’s survivor protection rules.

Frédéric Fekkai

Fekkai is a hairstylist and beauty entrepreneur whose documented relationship with Epstein includes social contact, direct correspondence, flight records, salon payments, appointments for people in Epstein’s circle, and access requests involving Epstein’s Manhattan home. The extensive EpsteinWiki profile of Frédéric Fekkai separates those documented connections from disputed allegations.

Fekkai denies knowing about or participating in Epstein’s trafficking and abuse. He also denies Sarah Kellen’s separate allegation that he assaulted her and introduced her to Epstein.

Frédéric Fekkai & Co, L.L.C.

The complaint identifies Frédéric Fekkai & Co, L.L.C. as a Delaware company that operated salon and beauty product activities. It alleges that the company and its employees participated in the conduct at issue.

Ownership matters because the Fekkai brand changed hands over time. A famous founder’s name on a salon does not by itself prove that the founder personally handled an appointment or controlled the business on that date. Any later filing should be checked for corporate records identifying which entity owned or operated each location during each plaintiff’s alleged timeline.

Patrick Coombs

The complaint identifies Patrick Coombs as a Fekkai salon employee and alleges that he provided or facilitated services at Epstein’s request. Public EFTA records repeatedly refer to a stylist named Patrick at Fekkai salons. Those records do not always state a surname.

The defense reportedly disputes the identity match and argues that references to Patrick cannot automatically be attributed to Coombs. Until employment records, testimony, or authenticated business records establish the match for each date, the responsible formulation is that the files name a stylist called Patrick and the complaint alleges that this person was Coombs.


Claims or Charges

Enabling gender motivated violence

The complaint pleads one civil count against all defendants under New York City Administrative Code section 10 1101 and following sections. It alleges that each defendant enabled Epstein’s acts of gender motivated violence by providing services, space, and assistance that helped him control the plaintiffs’ appearance and conduct.

The relevant 2026 amendment, Introduction 1297 A, created a civil cause of action for qualifying violence before January 9, 2022 against a party alleged to have committed, directed, enabled, participated in, or conspired in the conduct. The law provides an eighteen month filing period from its effective date and permits compensatory damages, punitive damages, declaratory and injunctive relief, attorney fees, and costs.

Status: Pending. No court has decided whether the complaint states a legally sufficient claim, whether federal jurisdiction is proper, whether the action should return to state court, or whether the evidence establishes liability.

The complaint is civil. Terms such as guilty and convicted do not apply to this lawsuit. The House Oversight referral concerns a separate request for criminal investigation based on Kellen’s testimony.


Factual Allegations

The complaint describes Fekkai salons as part of a “perks machine” through which Epstein allegedly rewarded, impressed, altered, and controlled women in his circle. It alleges that the plaintiffs were sent to the salons under Epstein’s direction and that the defendants styled them to appear younger or otherwise conform to his preferences.

The pleading alleges that Epstein sometimes directed blond coloring and that salon personnel followed his instructions rather than the wishes of the woman receiving the service. It further alleges that Patrick Coombs facilitated services and collaborated with Epstein. These assertions have not been tested through discovery or trial.

The complaint identifies Manhattan salons at 712 Fifth Avenue, 15 East 57th Street, 601 Madison Avenue, and 25 East 77th Street. It emphasizes the Fifth Avenue salon’s location within Henri Bendel. Henri Bendel belonged to the retail empire of Leslie Wexner, whose companies also included Victoria’s Secret and L Brands.

The pleading uses that commercial setting to argue that beauty services were not isolated transactions. It presents them as part of a broader system involving appearance, status, access, and the credibility of supposed fashion opportunities. The complaint also alleges that Epstein helped Fekkai’s business and connected him with international business contacts.

The documentary record supports recurring salon use and some business introductions. It does not, by itself, establish the complaint’s broader causal claim that Epstein was responsible for the brand’s commercial growth or that any retail placement was obtained through him. Those propositions require corporate agreements, communications, witness testimony, and transaction records.

The complaint also refers to Kellen’s congressional allegation against Fekkai. Kellen is not a plaintiff in this case. Her allegation is separate evidence with a separate denial and must not be merged with the seven plaintiffs’ claim.


Procedural History

June 4, 2026: Earlier action removed to federal court

Five Jane Doe plaintiffs previously sued Fekkai and several related business entities in New York Supreme Court under state index 156687/2026. Fekkai removed that action to the Southern District of New York, where it became case 1:26-cv-04717 before Judge Lewis J. Liman.

June 10, 2026: Earlier action voluntarily dismissed

The five plaintiffs filed a notice under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 41(a)(1)(A)(i), dismissing the June federal action without prejudice and without costs. “Without prejudice” means the dismissal did not bar a later action merely because the first action ended. It does not mean that the court found the allegations true or false. The court did not decide the merits.

August 31, 2026: Massie names Fekkai during a House speech

Representative Thomas Massie named Fekkai among people he said should be investigated and prosecuted during a House floor speech. A C SPAN recording preserves the remarks.

Massie’s statement is a congressional allegation and political demand. It is not an indictment, judicial finding, or determination by the House that Fekkai committed a crime.

September 1, 2026: New verified complaint submitted

The seven plaintiffs submitted the new complaint in New York County Supreme Court. The public copy bears NYSCEF document number 1 but also carries a caution that the County Clerk had not yet reviewed or accepted it when that copy was produced. It shows no assigned state index number.

The pleading is attorney verified. Counsel affirmed that the contents were based on counsel’s knowledge except for matters stated on information and belief, which counsel believed to be true based on investigations and records in the file. That is not the same as an affidavit from each plaintiff attesting to every allegation.

September 8, 2026: New action removed to the Southern District of New York

Public docket summaries and contemporaneous courthouse reporting state that Fekkai removed the new action to federal court. The new federal docket is 1:26-cv-07655.

The notice of removal reportedly attaches EFTA emails and materials concerning the identity of Patrick, Ferguson’s communications, and the defense position on the alleged timeline. Filing those exhibits places them in the litigation record for a stated legal purpose. It does not mean the court has accepted the defense interpretation.


Major Filings and Rulings

NYSCEF document 1: Verified complaint and jury demand

Received: September 1, 2026

Filed by: Plaintiffs

What it did: Initiated the new civil action, named seven plaintiffs and three defendants, pleaded one enabling claim under the city law, and requested damages and equitable relief.

Result: Pending. The public copy showed clerk review outstanding at the time of extraction.

Source: Public complaint PDF

Federal docket entry 1: Notice of removal

Filed: September 8, 2026

Filed by: Frédéric Fekkai

What it did: Moved the case from New York County Supreme Court to the Southern District of New York and presented the defense position on federal jurisdiction and disputed facts.

Result: The federal case was opened as 1:26-cv-07655. No public remand decision has been identified.

Source: Federal docket summary

No merits ruling

No answer, motion to dismiss ruling, discovery order, summary judgment decision, trial, verdict, or judgment has been identified as of September 9, 2026.


Evidence Presented or Cited

The complaint cites the DOJ document production, a March 2026 Bloomberg investigation, Sarah Kellen’s congressional testimony, and the June House referral. It alleges that the released corpus contains 3,118 documents and emails related to Fekkai’s salon.

That figure should be treated as the complaint’s search count, not as 3,118 independent findings of wrongdoing. Search totals change with spelling, duplication, OCR quality, attachments, and database design. A mention count does not classify what each document proves.

The September removal notice reportedly includes emails and identity related exhibits. Because the complete federal filing was not available through a fully accessible official docket during this review, this article does not claim that every EFTA record below was attached to the notice. They are included because they are directly relevant archival records and because several support factual propositions cited in the complaint.

The most probative records fall into four groups:

  • Salon scheduling and account records that show repeated services coordinated by Epstein’s staff
  • Communications placing Epstein, women from his circle, and visitors at the Fekkai salon
  • Direct correspondence and business introductions involving Epstein and Fekkai
  • Sworn testimony containing a disputed Hawaii related statement

Court Findings

There are no merits findings in the September action as of September 9, 2026.

The opening of a federal docket establishes that removal papers were filed and processed. It does not establish federal jurisdiction permanently, the legal sufficiency of the complaint, or the truth of either side’s factual account.

The June action also produced no merits finding. Its voluntary dismissal without prejudice resolved that docket procedurally but did not adjudicate liability.


Outcome

The September action remains pending at the initial pleading stage. No damages have been awarded. No injunction has been entered. No defendant has been found liable. No settlement has been reported.

The earlier June action ended through a voluntary dismissal without prejudice. It should be described as a predecessor or related action, not as a ruling clearing or condemning any party.


Appeal and Later Proceedings

The September 22, 2026 order allowed defendants to supplement their Rule 41(d) application and state their position on plaintiffs’ notice of dismissal by September 25, with a plaintiffs’ response permitted by September 30. This procedural order does not decide the underlying allegations.

The reviewed order does not state the notice’s scope or prejudice terms or resolve the Rule 41(d) application.


Survivor Impact and Participation

Seven people who describe themselves as Epstein survivors are plaintiffs. Five have chosen or obtained pseudonymous treatment. Their identities should remain protected unless they publicly identify themselves in a clear and voluntary way.

The complaint frames beauty services as a possible method of coercive control rather than a neutral luxury. That theory matters because grooming can involve rewards, clothing, hair, housing, travel, education, work promises, and introductions that appear benign when separated from the abusive system around them.

The case may test how the amended city law applies to people and companies accused of enabling violence rather than directly committing the underlying assault. Any ruling could affect other survivor actions involving institutions, service providers, employers, and people alleged to have participated in a broader system.

Publication should avoid turning the plaintiffs’ ages or appearance into spectacle. The relevant legal issue is the alleged use of appearance control within Epstein’s system and what each defendant knew and did.


What the Case Establishes

Established by the public record: Seven plaintiffs submitted a complaint against Fekkai, his company, and Coombs. The pleading asserts one city law enabling claim and demands a jury trial. The matter was removed to federal court as 1:26-cv-07655. A separate June action involving five Jane Does was dismissed without prejudice. Released EFTA records document recurring use of Fekkai salons by Epstein and his staff.

Alleged but not adjudicated: The defendants knowingly helped Epstein control the plaintiffs’ appearance; salon services formed part of an abuse and trafficking system; Fekkai and Coombs followed Epstein’s directions concerning how plaintiffs should look; the defendants supplied a location or assistance used to enable violence; and Epstein materially helped create or grow the Fekkai business.

Disputed: Fekkai denies wrongdoing and knowledge of trafficking. The defense reportedly disputes the identity of the Patrick named in some records and challenges parts of the timeline and causation theory. Kellen’s separate account of assault and introduction is directly denied by Fekkai.

Not established: The filing does not prove liability. It does not establish that every woman who received salon services was a survivor or trafficking victim. It does not show that Fekkai personally provided, approved, or knew about every service. It does not prove that every reference to Patrick means Patrick Coombs. It does not establish that the House or DOJ found Fekkai guilty of a crime. It does not establish that the commercial success of the Fekkai brand resulted from Epstein.


Relationship to the Wider Epstein Record

The lawsuit did not arise from a single contact book entry. It sits beside a larger record of flight travel, social invitations, salon billing, direct communication, access to Epstein’s residence, survivor testimony, and congressional scrutiny.

The salon records are relevant because they show infrastructure. Epstein’s staff could book services, charge them to his account, direct guests to the salon, and arrange appointments for groups of women. EFTA02096844, for example, directed a visitor to meet Epstein at the Fekkai salon rather than his house and said the visitor could go there with “the girls.” This places the salon inside Epstein’s logistical world. It does not alone prove criminal intent by salon personnel.

The business records are also relevant. EFTA01943656 records Epstein introducing Fekkai to Desmond Shum and praising the strength of Fekkai’s brand. EFTA01939846 contains a 2014 exchange in which Epstein asked whether Fekkai had thought further about a new brand and Fekkai proposed that they catch up. Those records support a business advisory connection. They do not prove that Epstein created the company or caused its valuation.

Sleuth work helped make this fragmented record legible. Ellie Leonard’s The Men Named by Sarah Kellen mapped Fekkai across flight logs, the black book, litigation material, social events, and salon scheduling. Tara Palmeri’s report on Kellen’s allegations identified the names raised in the then closed congressional interview. Their reporting is useful for discovery and context, while the complaint, transcript, committee letter, docket, and EFTA source records control the factual classifications here.


Related Cases

  • Doe 1 et al. v. Fekkai et al., Southern District of New York case 1:26-cv-04717. This was the June predecessor action involving five Jane Does and six Fekkai related defendants. It was voluntarily dismissed without prejudice on June 10, 2026.
  • Giuffre v. Maxwell, Southern District of New York case 1:15-cv-07433. Johanna Sjoberg’s deposition, later filed in that litigation, contains the Hawaii statement involving Fekkai.
  • De Deus v. Estate of Jeffrey E. Epstein, New York County index 151301/2026. The September complaint cites this matter in support of its position that the GMVA claim is not displaced by other survivor revival laws. The quoted legal conclusion belongs to the cited ruling and must be checked against the order before being applied beyond its facts.

Key EFTA Evidence

Salon meeting and logistical use

EFTA02096844

Date: September 9, 2014

Type: Administrative email

Record: A message directs Ramsey Elkholy to meet Epstein at the Fekkai salon rather than the house, says Epstein is there, and states that Elkholy can go with “the girls.” The prior message refers to bringing a model and another woman.

Assessment: Strong evidence that the salon sometimes served as an Epstein meeting and coordination location. It does not show what salon employees knew about Epstein’s purpose.

Appointment attributed to a girl

EFTA02069216

Date: October 26, 2015

Type: Appointment confirmation and staff email

Record: Epstein staff discussed an unexpected appointment in Epstein’s name involving a men’s haircut with Patrick and color or highlights with another stylist. One staff response said it might be for a girl because it included highlights.

Assessment: Evidence that appointments could be booked under Epstein’s name while intended for someone else and that Patrick was a recurring salon contact. It does not identify the client or establish that Patrick was Coombs.

Reservation with Patrick for multiple women

EFTA02210962

Date: April 19, 2017

Type: Scheduling email

Record: A sender states that a reservation with Patrick was made for “you girls” at the Fifth Avenue salon.

Assessment: Direct evidence of group salon scheduling through Epstein’s communications. The record does not identify the women, their ages, or the stylist’s surname.

Epstein account used for haircuts

EFTA02493779

Date: July 20, 2015

Type: Billing question

Record: A correspondent asks Epstein whether the girls’ haircuts should be placed on “our account.”

Assessment: Evidence that Epstein’s account was used or considered for salon services provided to multiple women. It does not establish why the services were provided.

Permission for women to book appointments

EFTA02663824

Date: May 16, 2018

Type: Email from Lesley Groff to Epstein

Record: Groff asks whether the girls have Epstein’s permission to make their own hair appointments at Fekkai.

Assessment: Significant evidence of Epstein’s control over access to salon services. It does not establish that the salon knew the women needed Epstein’s permission.

Epstein payment card designated for salon charges

EFTA00373168

Date: March 12, 2014

Type: Forwarded receipt email

Record: Epstein staff wrote that the Fekkai salon would now use Epstein’s Black American Express card.

Assessment: Strong evidence of a recurring payment arrangement. Payment proves patronage, not knowledge of abuse.

Haircut receipt naming Patrick

EFTA00484284

Date: October 31, 2018

Type: Salon receipt email

Record: The Fifth Avenue salon sent a receipt for Epstein’s haircut with Patrick.

Assessment: Evidence that a stylist named Patrick served Epstein after his 2008 conviction. The record does not state the stylist’s surname.

Direct business discussion

EFTA01939846

Date: January 6, 2014

Type: Direct email exchange

Record: Epstein asked Fekkai whether he had thought more about a new brand. Fekkai replied that they should catch up that week.

Assessment: Evidence of direct business related discussion. It does not reveal what advice was given or whether a transaction followed.

Business introduction to Desmond Shum

EFTA01943656

Date: December 2, 2013

Type: Introduction email

Record: Epstein told Desmond Shum that Fekkai was someone he should meet, praised Fekkai’s brand, and said Fekkai had interesting ideas.

Assessment: Evidence that Epstein promoted Fekkai to an international business contact. It does not establish that a deal occurred.

Sjoberg deposition testimony

EFTA02792145, transcript page 39

Testimony date: May 18, 2016

Court filing date: January 3, 2024

Type: Sworn deposition testimony filed in Giuffre v. Maxwell

Record: Sjoberg testified that she heard Epstein say Fekkai was in Hawaii and ask whether someone could find girls for him.

Assessment: Evidence of what Sjoberg said under oath that she personally heard. It does not identify the person called, define “girls,” show that Fekkai knew of the request, or prove that anyone acted on it.


Involvement Scale Assessment

The Epstein Network Levels of Involvement Scale measures documented connection and function. It does not determine guilt.

For Fekkai, the currently verified public record supports at least Level 3, Direct system contact. The basis is repeated social and professional contact, flight and scheduling records, direct communication, salon account use, services arranged for people in Epstein’s network, and a request involving access to Epstein’s residence.

The complaint seeks to establish conduct consistent with a higher operational classification, but allegations cannot be used as if already proven. A Level 4 or Level 5 classification would require reliable evidence establishing that Fekkai or Coombs knowingly managed, coordinated, directed, groomed, controlled, or concealed a material part of Epstein’s system.

No definitive scale level is assigned here to Coombs because the identity link between the complaint’s defendant and every EFTA reference to Patrick remains disputed and incompletely documented in the public material reviewed.


Reliability and Limitations

The strongest source is the seventeen page complaint, but a complaint states the plaintiffs’ allegations. It is not evidence that a court has accepted those allegations as true.

The public complaint copy carries an unassigned index number and a County Clerk review warning. The federal docket confirms that a new case was opened, but the complete official docket and every exhibit were not freely accessible during this review.

The federal removal details are partly drawn from PACER Monitor summaries and contemporaneous reporting by Inner City Press. The official notice and exhibits should replace secondary summaries when a stable public copy becomes available.

EFTA OCR can misread names, punctuation, addresses, and dates. The visible document image should control whenever OCR and the image conflict. Duplicate productions can also inflate search counts.

Several EFTA records say only Patrick. They do not prove that every Patrick was Patrick Coombs. This is a material identity question, not a technical footnote.

The complaint’s statements about business creation, company growth, retail placement, and financial benefit are broad. The verified emails show business discussion and an introduction, but not the complete corporate causal chain alleged in the pleading.

News reports provide responses and context, but they are not substitutes for pleadings, orders, transcripts, or authenticated records. The source classifications follow Handling Contradictory Evidence.


Questions That Still Need Answers

  • What state index number was assigned after the public complaint copy was produced?
  • Which judge received the federal case, and will the plaintiffs move to remand it to state court?
  • What federal jurisdiction theory does the notice of removal assert despite the complaint’s allegation that complete diversity is absent?
  • What changed between the June complaint and the September complaint beyond the addition of Ferguson, Christiansen, and Coombs?
  • Why was the June action voluntarily dismissed six days after removal, and what relationship does that decision have to the new filing?
  • Which Fekkai entity owned, managed, staffed, and controlled each salon during each plaintiff’s alleged visits?
  • Do employment, payroll, appointment, or licensing records identify Patrick Coombs as the Patrick named in the relevant appointments?
  • Do full appointment books identify which plaintiff received which service, on what date, at whose instruction, and from which stylist?
  • Are there contemporaneous messages recording Epstein’s alleged directions about making any plaintiff appear younger or changing hair color?
  • Did salon staff record client objections, unusual instructions, house calls, group visits, or payments made under another person’s name?
  • What did Fekkai know about Epstein’s 2008 conviction, and did salon policies change after that conviction?
  • Did Epstein’s account continue at every salon location, and who had authority to charge services to it?
  • What evidence supports the allegation that salon space was used to plan or operate trafficking rather than merely provide services and meetings?
  • What evidence supports the claim that Epstein helped form Frédéric Fekkai & Co, L.L.C.?
  • Did the introduction to Desmond Shum lead to a meeting, investment, distribution agreement, or other business transaction?
  • Is there documentary support for the alleged link between Epstein and Fekkai product placement within Wexner related retail companies?
  • Has the Justice Department opened, declined, or completed any investigation following the June 4 congressional referral?
  • Will the court permit the five Jane Does to remain pseudonymous, and what privacy protections will govern discovery?
  • Which EFTA exhibits were actually attached to the September removal notice, and how do the parties characterize each one?
  • Will discovery produce salon records that corroborate, narrow, or contradict the plaintiffs’ accounts?

Fact Check

The review confirmed the public complaint’s caption, date, plaintiffs, defendants, single statutory claim, requested relief, jury demand, and clerk warning. It also confirmed the prior federal case number, its June 4 removal, Judge Lewis J. Liman’s assignment, and the June 10 voluntary dismissal without prejudice.

The new federal docket number and September 8 removal date were cross checked through PACER Monitor and contemporaneous courthouse reporting. The complete current PACER docket should be checked again before publication and after any filing update.

Each EFTA record summarized above was checked through the direct Epstein Data document endpoint and linked to its public viewer. The article does not treat search counts or entity summaries as substitutes for the records.

The June House referral was checked against the official committee release and the signed referral letter. The committee expressly said it was not deciding guilt or innocence.

The complaint contains a sentence that could be read as calling Fekkai Epstein’s longtime assistant. That wording conflicts with the surrounding record and appears to be a drafting error. This article does not repeat it as fact.

Verification status: Verified as to filing contents and the June disposition. Partially verified as to the complete September federal docket and exhibits. Liability allegations remain disputed and unadjudicated.

Docket last checked: September 9, 2026


Related EpsteinWiki Pages


Source List

Court records and law

Government and congressional records

Direct Epstein Data records

Reporting and independent research


Editorial Note

This article summarizes public allegations and court procedure. It does not determine civil liability or criminal guilt. Names, quotations, and dates should be checked against the latest official docket before publication. Any later answer, remand ruling, dismissal, discovery decision, settlement, trial result, or appeal should be added with its exact docket entry and evidentiary status.

Previous The Enablers Behind Jeffrey Epstein’s Florida Deal
Next DOJ OGR 00011205: Proposed Arrest Order for Kelly Bovino and the Withdrawn Warrant Request
Table of Contents