Skip to main content
< All Topics
Print

State of Florida v. Epstein, No. 50-2006-CF-009454-AXXX-MB (Fla. 15th Cir. Ct. 2006)

Case Snapshot

FieldDetail
Full captionState of Florida v. Jeffrey E. Epstein
Docket number50-2006-CF-009454-AXXX-MB
CourtCircuit Court of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit in and for Palm Beach County, Florida
Case typeState felony criminal prosecution
Indictment dateJuly 19, 2006
DefendantJeffrey E. Epstein
ChargeFelony solicitation of prostitution, also described in the clerk record as felony offer to commit prostitution
Statutory provisions in the indictmentFlorida Statutes sections 796.07(1), 796.07(2)(f), and 796.07(4)(c)
Felony levelThird degree felony, level 1
Alleged offense periodAugust 1, 2004 through October 31, 2005
Arrest or surrenderJuly 23, 2006
PleaGuilty
Plea dateJune 30, 2008
DispositionAdjudicated guilty by the court
Sentence in this docket12 months in jail
Related state docket50-2008-CF-009381-AXXX-MB
Combined sentence across both dockets18 months in county custody, followed by 12 months of community control
Actual custodial service across both docketsLess than 13 months, according to the Department of Justice Office of Professional Responsibility
Primary indictment recordEFTA02823657
Clerk charge and sentence recordEFTA01265900
Principal institutional reviewDepartment of Justice Office of Professional Responsibility report, EFTA02847284

This page concerns the 2006 indictment and conviction. It discusses the 2008 companion case only where necessary to explain the joint plea and combined sentence.


Overview

State of Florida v. Epstein was the first criminal prosecution of Jeffrey Epstein arising from the Palm Beach Police Department investigation into the sexual abuse of teenage girls at his residence in Palm Beach, Florida. A Palm Beach County grand jury returned a one count indictment on July 19, 2006. It charged felony solicitation of prostitution based on alleged conduct occurring on three or more occasions between August 1, 2004 and October 31, 2005.

Epstein surrendered on July 23, 2006 and was not detained while the charge remained pending. A parallel federal investigation followed. On September 24, 2007, the United States Attorney’s Office for the Southern District of Florida signed a nonprosecution agreement that conditioned federal nonprosecution on a state resolution. Epstein ultimately pleaded guilty in this case on June 30, 2008. The court adjudicated him guilty and imposed 12 months in the Palm Beach County jail system.

This case is often described inaccurately as if it alone produced both of Epstein’s 2008 convictions and his full 18 month sentence. It did not. The conviction for procuring a person under 18 for prostitution was entered in the separate case State of Florida v. Epstein, No. 50-2008-CF-009381-AXXX-MB. That second case added a consecutive six month jail sentence and 12 months of community control. The two cases were resolved together, but they remain separate dockets with separate charges and sentences.

The 2006 case became a lasting symbol of institutional failure because the single indictment was far narrower than the charges Palm Beach police believed their investigation supported. The later plea was also connected to a federal agreement that ended a much broader FBI investigation. Epstein served less than 13 months of the combined 18 month term and was permitted extensive work release by the Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office.


Key Takeaways

  1. The Palm Beach Police Department investigated reports that Epstein sexually abused minors through a paid massage and referral system.
  2. Detective Joe Recarey’s May 1, 2006 probable cause affidavit stated that the evidence supported four counts of unlawful sexual activity with a minor and one count of lewd or lascivious molestation.
  3. The state grand jury did not return those charges. It indicted Epstein on one count of felony solicitation of prostitution.
  4. The indictment alleged solicitation on three or more occasions. It did not identify a victim and did not state that the conduct involved minors.
  5. Palm Beach Police Chief Michael Reiter and the lead detective were dissatisfied with the state handling and helped refer the matter for federal investigation.
  6. The FBI and federal prosecutors developed a much broader case, but no federal charge was filed at that time.
  7. A September 2007 federal nonprosecution agreement required a state resolution, incarceration, sexual offender registration, and a civil compensation process. In exchange, federal prosecutors agreed not to prosecute Epstein or named and unnamed potential coconspirators in the Southern District of Florida.
  8. Epstein pleaded guilty in this case on June 30, 2008. This was a conviction, not a dismissal or deferred prosecution.
  9. The 12 month sentence in this docket was only one part of the combined state resolution.
  10. The separate 2008 docket produced the conviction for procuring a person under 18 for prostitution, a consecutive six month sentence, and the community control term.
  11. The plea court received only the charging language as the factual basis. The broader investigative evidence was not presented in open court at the plea hearing.
  12. The federal agreement did not expressly prohibit work release. The Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office later approved extensive work release over federal prosecutors’ objections.
  13. Epstein served less than 13 months of the combined 18 month custodial sentence before release to community control.
  14. In 2019, Florida officials reopened this docket for a request to review and unseal the 2006 grand jury testimony. That proceeding did not reopen the conviction or bring new charges.
  15. Florida law changed in 2024, allowing the grand jury materials to be released under a narrow statutory exception.

Survivor Reading Note

The records concern the sexual abuse and exploitation of minors. Some source documents contain graphic allegations, victim identifying information, or language that treats teenage girls as participants in prostitution rather than as children subjected to adult exploitation. This article does not reproduce identifying details or unnecessary graphic content.

The phrase procuring a person under 18 for prostitution is used only when identifying the formal statutory charge in the separate 2008 case. It is not a description of a child’s moral responsibility. Payment, recruitment of friends, repeated contact, or inconsistent disclosure does not erase the age and power imbalance or establish lawful consent to sexual conduct.

The public interest in this case lies in the conduct of Epstein and the institutions that investigated, charged, sentenced, confined, and supervised him. Survivor privacy remains essential even when court records become public.


How the Palm Beach Investigation Began

Palm Beach police opened an investigation in March 2005 after the family of a fourteen year old reported an encounter at Epstein’s home. The girl said she had been recruited to provide a massage and that Epstein escalated the encounter into sexual contact. Investigators then identified additional girls and witnesses who described similar appointments.

Detective Joe Recarey’s sworn probable cause affidavit states that police investigated from March 15, 2005 through February 2006. Officers took recorded statements, conducted controlled telephone calls, reviewed telephone and aircraft records, performed trash pulls, executed a search warrant, and interviewed employees and other witnesses.

The police theory was not limited to a single encounter. The affidavit described a recurring referral structure. A girl who had already visited Epstein could be paid for bringing another girl. Appointments were arranged around purported massages. According to the affidavit, Epstein then introduced sexual conduct and paid the girls after the encounter.

The search of Epstein’s Palm Beach residence produced evidence that police viewed as corroborative. The affidavit described massage tables, appointment and message records, photographs, concealed cameras, computer images, and a home layout matching witness accounts. The publicly released affidavit does not include every underlying recording, forensic report, or chain of custody record, so each evidentiary item must be understood as part of the police probable cause presentation rather than a trial finding.

The complete House Oversight release of the affidavit begins at HOUSE_OVERSIGHT_018894 and ends at HOUSE_OVERSIGHT_018915.


Charges Recommended by Palm Beach Police

Recarey’s May 1, 2006 affidavit concluded that probable cause existed for five felony charges:

Proposed chargeNumber of countsStatute cited by police
Unlawful sexual activity with a minor4Florida Statutes section 794.05(1)
Lewd or lascivious molestation1Florida Statutes section 800.04(5)

These were police recommendations. They were not charges returned by the grand jury, and Epstein was not convicted of them in this case.

The distinction is central. Probable cause is a lower legal threshold than proof beyond a reasonable doubt. Prosecutors also assess witness availability, admissibility, corroboration, statutory elements, and trial risk. However, the gap between the police recommendation and the single charge returned by the grand jury became the principal public controversy surrounding the state prosecution.


Dispute Between Police and State Prosecutors

The Palm Beach County State Attorney’s Office was led by Barry Krischer. The case was handled within its Crimes Against Children Unit, which was headed by Assistant State Attorney Lanna Belohlavek.

The Department of Justice Office of Professional Responsibility later interviewed state and federal participants. Its report records sharply different institutional views. State prosecutors said they had serious concerns about whether available evidence would satisfy the elements of more serious offenses and whether the witnesses could withstand an aggressive defense attack. Police officials believed the evidence supported substantial felony charges and concluded that the state office was not treating the case normally.

Chief Reiter sent Krischer the probable cause package on May 1, 2006. In a transmittal letter, Reiter called the handling highly unusual and asked Krischer to consider whether he should disqualify himself. Reiter later said he believed the state attorney did not want to prosecute the case.

The OPR report also records the pressure applied by Epstein’s defense team. According to Krischer’s account to OPR, Alan Dershowitz warned that the defense would destroy the witnesses if the case went to court. Krischer said defense lawyers attacked witness credibility. The report does not treat aggressive defense advocacy as proof of improper conduct by the prosecutors, but it documents the setting in which the charging decision was made.

No court in this prosecution entered a finding that Krischer, Belohlavek, or another state official accepted a bribe, acted from corruption, or deliberately protected a politically connected person. The charging outcome may be criticized without converting suspicions into established criminal conduct.


The 2006 Grand Jury

Belohlavek presented the case to a Palm Beach County grand jury on July 19, 2006. Krischer later told OPR that the entire matter was placed before the grand jury. A state attorney spokesperson said at the time that jurors received a list of potential charges from highest to lowest and deliberated without the prosecutor present.

The grand jury returned only one count. The indictment reproduced in EFTA02823657 alleged that Epstein:

  • Solicited, induced, enticed, or procured another person to commit prostitution, lewdness, or assignation.
  • Did so on three or more occasions.
  • Committed the conduct between August 1, 2004 and October 31, 2005 in Palm Beach County.
  • Violated Florida Statutes sections 796.07(1), 796.07(2)(f), and 796.07(4)(c).

The indictment classified the offense as a third degree felony and level 1 offense. It did not name a victim. It also did not state that a person involved was under eighteen.

That omission had legal and public consequences. A reader examining only the indictment would not see the age of the girls described in the police investigation. The public record therefore framed the prosecution as a prostitution solicitation case, not as a child sexual abuse case.

The 2024 release of the grand jury testimony later made it possible to examine how witnesses were questioned and how the proceeding was presented. Those materials belong to the record of institutional accountability. They do not change the charge actually returned in 2006.


Surrender and Pretrial Status

Epstein surrendered for arrest on July 23, 2006. The OPR report states that he was not detained after the surrender. The charge then remained pending while the FBI and the United States Attorney’s Office developed a parallel federal investigation.

The public record reviewed for this article does not support describing the two year interval as a criminal trial. No jury trial occurred. The case moved from indictment through extended state and federal negotiations to a guilty plea.


Federal Investigation and Operation Leap Year

The Palm Beach police concerns reached the FBI before the state indictment. The United States Attorney’s Office opened a federal file on May 23, 2006. The investigation became known as Operation Leap Year because the state work had identified approximately 29 girls as potential victims at that stage.

Federal agents and prosecutors considered statutes involving the use of interstate facilities to entice minors and travel connected to unlawful sexual conduct. They gathered witness statements, flight information, telephone records, financial evidence, and other material. By 2007, federal prosecutors had prepared a lengthy prosecution memorandum and a draft federal indictment containing numerous proposed charges. That indictment was never filed.

The federal investigation is essential context, but it was not part of the jurisdiction of the Florida circuit court. Federal prosecutors did not take over the 2006 state docket. They used the possible federal case as leverage while negotiating the terms of a state based resolution.


The 2007 Federal Nonprosecution Agreement

On September 24, 2007, the United States Attorney’s Office for the Southern District of Florida and Epstein signed a nonprosecution agreement. The agreement required Epstein to resolve the Florida matter through guilty pleas and to make a binding sentencing recommendation.

The negotiated conditions included:

  • A guilty plea to the pending state indictment.
  • A guilty plea to an additional state offense requiring sexual offender registration.
  • A recommended total of 18 months in county custody.
  • A following 12 month term of community control.
  • A process intended to facilitate monetary claims by identified victims.

In exchange, the federal office agreed not to prosecute Epstein in the Southern District of Florida. The protection also extended to four named individuals and any potential coconspirators. The enforceability of that language as to any particular third party was not decided in this state case.

The NPA was a federal executive agreement, not an order entered by the Florida court. The state judge still had to accept the guilty pleas and impose the agreed state sentences. The existence of the NPA was disclosed to the judge at sidebar during the plea hearing and a copy was filed under seal.

The 2020 OPR report, EFTA02847284, concluded that then United States Attorney Alexander Acosta had authority to resolve the federal investigation but exercised poor judgment by using the NPA. OPR found no evidence that the decision resulted from corruption or impermissible considerations such as Epstein’s wealth, status, or associations. OPR also found poor judgment in Acosta’s failure to ensure that victims were notified about the state plea hearing.

Those conclusions must be reported together. OPR did not approve the agreement as sound policy, and it did not find professional misconduct or corruption on the evidence it reviewed.


The Separate 2008 State Case

The NPA required a conviction that would trigger sexual offender registration. The existing solicitation indictment did not expressly identify a minor. State prosecutors therefore filed a separate criminal information in No. 50-2008-CF-009381-AXXX-MB charging Epstein under Florida Statutes section 796.03 with procuring a person under 18 for prostitution.

The clerk’s two page comparison in EFTA01265900 shows the two dockets side by side:

DocketChargeGuilty pleaSentence shown by clerk
50-2006-CF-009454Felony offer to commit prostitutionJune 30, 200812 months jail
50-2008-CF-009381Procure person under age of 18 for prostitutionJune 30, 20086 months jail, consecutive, plus 12 months community time

The convictions were entered on the same day and formed one negotiated resolution. They should still be indexed separately. Attributing both convictions to the 2006 docket produces an inaccurate case history and can create duplicate EpsteinWiki pages.


June 30, 2008 Guilty Plea

Epstein appeared with attorney Jack Goldberger on June 30, 2008 and pleaded guilty in both state cases. Assistant State Attorney Belohlavek recited the charging language rather than presenting the broader police or FBI evidence.

For the 2006 case, the factual statement was that Epstein solicited or procured someone to commit prostitution on three or more occasions between August 1, 2004 and October 31, 2005. For the 2008 case, the statement was that he procured a minor under eighteen for prostitution between August 1, 2004 and October 9, 2005.

The court found the recitation sufficient to support the pleas. The clerk record for the 2006 docket states:

Record fieldEntry
PleaGuilty
Plea dateJune 30, 2008
DispositionAdjudicated guilty by court
Disposition dateJune 30, 2008
Offense dateOctober 31, 2005
Sentence12 months jail

The conviction is an adjudicated fact. The wider accounts gathered by police and the FBI were not individually tried or resolved by the plea. The court did not issue findings about every alleged encounter, recruiter, employee, assistant, or potential coconspirator.


Combined Sentence

The negotiated sentence was structured across two dockets so that it could be served in Palm Beach County custody. The OPR report records the explanation that each individual jail term had to remain at or below 12 months for the county placement. The result was one 12 month term followed by one consecutive six month term.

ComponentSource docketTerm
Jail sentence for felony solicitation50-2006-CF-00945412 months
Consecutive jail sentence for procuring a person under 1850-2008-CF-0093816 months
Community control after custody50-2008-CF-00938112 months
Total negotiated custodyBoth dockets18 months

Epstein was taken into custody immediately after the plea. The court imposed a custodial sentence. It did not sentence him to twelve hours a day outside the facility. The later work release arrangement was an administrative decision by the Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office.


Sexual Offender Registration

Sexual offender registration was a central federal demand during negotiation. The pending 2006 solicitation indictment did not clearly supply the registrable offense federal prosecutors required. The separate section 796.03 conviction served that function.

The OPR report states that Epstein registered with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement after release from custody. His later registration disputes in other jurisdictions are outside the merits of this Florida criminal case.

It is inaccurate to say that the single count in the 2006 indictment expressly charged solicitation of a minor. The indictment did not mention age. The registrable minor related conviction belonged to the 2008 docket.


Custody at the Palm Beach County Stockade

Epstein was housed at the Palm Beach County Stockade, a lower security facility operated by the Sheriff’s Office, rather than the Main Detention Center. Federal prosecutors had expected continuous incarceration but had not placed an express ban on work release in the NPA.

The custodial setting drew scrutiny almost immediately. Federal prosecutor A. Marie Villafana learned that the Sheriff’s Office considered Epstein eligible for work release. She and other federal officials attempted to prevent or restrict it. The state plea agreement did not prohibit it, and the Sheriff’s Office treated work release as within its administrative discretion.

Responsibility must be allocated accurately:

  • The circuit court imposed the sentences.
  • The State Attorney’s Office negotiated and presented the plea.
  • The United States Attorney’s Office negotiated the federal NPA and later objected to work release.
  • The Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office decided where Epstein would be housed and approved work release.
  • OPR reviewed the conduct of federal Department of Justice attorneys. It did not conduct a full investigation into whether county work release rules were violated.

Work Release

Epstein began work release in October 2008. The approved schedule permitted him to leave custody for as many as 12 hours a day, six days a week, purportedly to work at the Florida Science Foundation. OPR reported that the entity had been incorporated recently and was located at the West Palm Beach office of one of Epstein’s attorneys.

Villafana notified Epstein’s defense counsel in November 2008 that the United States Attorney’s Office viewed participation in work release as a material breach of the NPA. She stated that the office had agreed to federal nonprosecution in reliance on 18 months of confinement 24 hours a day.

Defense counsel took the opposing position that the agreement did not forbid work release and that Florida law treated it as part of confinement. The federal office ultimately did not resume prosecution. The Sheriff’s Office continued administering the program.

The controversy is not merely about comfort or privilege. Work release materially reduced the time Epstein spent inside the custodial facility. It also created questions about supervision, visitors, transportation, employment verification, off duty deputy payments, and whether a convicted sexual offender received treatment unavailable to similarly situated prisoners.

The 2019 Florida inquiry into the handling of Epstein expressly included work release and other irregularities. The state motion to review the grand jury material, EFTA02823657, attached Governor Ron DeSantis’s Executive Order 19-183 assigning State Attorney Bruce Colton to assist the Florida Department of Law Enforcement inquiry.


Release From Custody and Community Control

Epstein received gain time and served less than 13 months of the combined 18 month sentence. He was released from custody on July 22, 2009 to a one year term of home detention as a condition of community control.

This was not a reduction of the 12 month judgment shown in the 2006 docket. It was the actual administration of the combined sentences after credit and gain time. The difference matters when reporting both the judicial sentence and the amount of time served.

The OPR report states that Epstein registered as a sexual offender with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. The state court later made the previously sealed NPA public in September 2009 after victims and news organizations sought access.


Victim Notice and the Plea Hearing

Federal prosecutors had identified numerous victims and had sent communications describing rights under the Crime Victims’ Rights Act. They did not consult the victims before signing the NPA. After the agreement was signed, some government communications continued to describe the federal matter as under investigation.

At the state plea hearing, the judge asked whether the victims agreed with the resolution. Belohlavek stated that she had spoken with several victims and with counsel for another and believed they agreed. The later federal victims’ rights litigation produced a much more contested record about notice, consultation, timing, and what survivors had been told.

In 2019, the federal district court found that prosecutors violated the petitioners’ right to confer by negotiating and signing the NPA without consulting them. The February 2019 opinion is preserved at EFTA02758051. Later appellate proceedings denied a remedy on procedural grounds. They did not convert the government’s conduct into adequate survivor consultation.

The state plea court did not adjudicate the federal government’s compliance with the Crime Victims’ Rights Act. That dispute belongs to Doe v. United States, No. 9:08-cv-80736.


Later Proceedings in the 2006 Docket

Epstein died in federal custody on August 10, 2019 while awaiting trial in the separate 2019 federal sex trafficking case. His death did not vacate the 2008 Florida conviction.

Florida officials later used the 2006 docket to seek access to the sealed state grand jury testimony. Governor DeSantis issued Executive Order 19-183 on August 6, 2019. The order assigned State Attorney Bruce Colton to assist the Florida Department of Law Enforcement with matters related to Epstein’s work release and other alleged irregularities surrounding the state investigation and plea.

On December 11 and December 16, 2019, the assigned prosecutors filed motions asking the court to authorize review and transcription of the grand jury proceedings. They argued that access was necessary to carry out the executive assignment and further justice. The motions and attached indictment appear in EFTA02823657 and EFTA02823664.

Judge Krista Marx held a hearing on January 7, 2020. The hearing notes, EFTA02823676, record appearances by prosecutors, a Florida Department of Law Enforcement agent, a victims’ attorney, and defense counsel. The court denied the motion without prejudice.

The ruling addressed grand jury secrecy and the legal standard for disclosure. It did not overturn the conviction, modify the sentence, or decide that the original charging process was proper.


The Palm Beach Post Access Litigation

The publisher of The Palm Beach Post brought a separate civil action seeking the same grand jury materials. The trial court initially denied access, but Florida’s Fourth District Court of Appeal reversed in 2023 and held that the circuit court had inherent authority to disclose grand jury material when disclosure would further justice.

The appellate court required a careful review. It directed the trial court to consider the need for disclosure while protecting victims, witnesses, and uncharged people. The decision did not authorize indiscriminate publication of survivor identities.

The separate access action is CA Florida Holdings, LLC v. Aronberg, No. 50-2019-CA-014681-XXXX-MB. It should not be merged into this criminal case merely because both matters concern the 2006 grand jury.


Florida’s 2024 Grand Jury Disclosure Law

After continued litigation, the Florida Legislature passed HB 117 unanimously. Governor DeSantis signed the measure in February 2024. It created a narrow exception permitting disclosure of grand jury testimony in circumstances that included the Epstein investigation. The law took effect on July 1, 2024.

The Palm Beach County court released approximately 150 pages of grand jury material after the law took effect. The release gave the public its first broad view of the proceeding that produced the single 2006 count.

The statutory change did not amend the original indictment or create a new conviction. It changed the public’s access to the historical record. The released material can be used to examine prosecutorial choices and institutional treatment of witnesses, but allegations within testimony remain testimony unless independently adjudicated.


What the Conviction Establishes

The public clerk record establishes the following facts:

  • A Palm Beach County grand jury indicted Epstein in 2006 for felony solicitation of prostitution based on three or more occasions.
  • Epstein pleaded guilty in this docket on June 30, 2008.
  • The circuit court adjudicated him guilty.
  • The court imposed 12 months in jail for this count.
  • The conviction was one half of a two docket state plea resolution.

Those are adjudicated criminal facts. They may be stated directly without allegation qualifiers.


What the Conviction Does Not Establish

This case did not produce a trial verdict on the more serious charges recommended by Palm Beach police. It did not determine beyond a reasonable doubt that Epstein committed every act described in the probable cause affidavit or federal investigation.

It also did not adjudicate:

  • The criminal liability of any assistant, recruiter, employee, associate, or potential coconspirator.
  • Whether any state or county official committed corruption, obstruction, bribery, or another crime.
  • Whether the federal NPA would bar prosecution of a particular third party.
  • Whether every survivor received adequate notice of the plea.
  • Whether the Sheriff’s Office violated a particular work release rule.
  • The merits of the 2019 federal sex trafficking charges, which ended without trial after Epstein’s death.

The absence of a conviction on other conduct is not proof that the conduct did not occur. It means this prosecution did not adjudicate it.


Institutional Significance

The case shows how charge selection can define the public meaning of a prosecution. Police presented a child sexual abuse investigation involving many teenage girls. The indictment that emerged described repeated prostitution solicitation without mentioning age. Two years later, the final state resolution added one minor related count in a different docket, while the federal government abandoned a much broader contemplated prosecution.

The process also divided responsibility across agencies. State prosecutors controlled the grand jury presentation and state plea. Federal prosecutors controlled the NPA and their charging decision. The circuit court accepted the plea and imposed sentence. The Sheriff’s Office controlled custody and work release. That fragmentation made it easier for each institution to describe important decisions as belonging to another institution.

The case is therefore important for at least four accountability questions:

  1. Whether prosecutors accurately assessed the strength of the evidence and the risks of trial.
  2. Whether survivor credibility was evaluated through stereotypes, pressure, or standards not applied to the adult defendant.
  3. Whether the federal NPA was proportionate to the evidence and public interest.
  4. Whether Epstein received materially preferential treatment in custody and work release.

The OPR review answered parts of the federal questions but did not resolve every state and county issue. Its finding of poor judgment is significant. Its finding that evidence did not establish corruption is equally part of the record.


Evidence Index

RecordWhat it establishes or containsEvidentiary caution
HOUSE_OVERSIGHT_018894 through HOUSE_OVERSIGHT_018915Palm Beach Police Department probable cause affidavit, investigative summary, proposed charges, and supporting evidence descriptionsPolice probable cause presentation, not a verdict
EFTA028236572019 motion to unseal, Governor’s executive order, and copy of the July 19, 2006 indictmentLater filing reproducing the original indictment
EFTA01265900Palm Beach clerk charge, plea, disposition, and sentence screens for both state docketsConcise docket data, not a full plea transcript
EFTA02823311Court event form associated with the 2006 charge and plea proceedingsHandwriting and optical text are difficult to read
EFTA02847284Full Department of Justice OPR report on the 2006 through 2008 federal investigation, NPA, plea, victim contacts, and work release responseInstitutional review based on interviews and records, not a criminal judgment
EFTA02758051Federal district court opinion finding a violation of the petitioners’ right to conferFederal CVRA ruling, not an order in this state case
EFTA02823664Renewed December 2019 motion seeking grand jury accessMotion states the State’s position
EFTA02823676January 7, 2020 hearing notes and denial without prejudiceProcedural record, not a substantive finding on the original prosecution

Fact Check

Checked September 10, 2026.

Verified: The exact docket is 50-2006-CF-009454-AXXX-MB in the Circuit Court of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit in and for Palm Beach County, Florida.

Verified: The grand jury returned the indictment on July 19, 2006.

Verified: The indictment charged one third degree felony count under Florida Statutes section 796.07.

Verified: The alleged period ran from August 1, 2004 through October 31, 2005.

Verified: The indictment did not identify a victim or state that the conduct involved a minor.

Verified: Epstein surrendered on July 23, 2006 and was not detained after surrender.

Verified: Epstein pleaded guilty on June 30, 2008.

Verified: The court adjudicated Epstein guilty in this docket.

Verified: The sentence in this docket was 12 months in jail.

Verified: The additional six month consecutive sentence belonged to docket 50-2008-CF-009381-AXXX-MB.

Verified: The minor related conviction also belonged to the separate 2008 docket.

Verified: The combined state resolution required 18 months in county custody and 12 months of community control.

Verified: OPR reported that Epstein actually served less than 13 months before release on July 22, 2009.

Verified: The Sheriff’s Office, not the plea court, approved work release.

Verified: The January 7, 2020 motion to access the grand jury testimony was denied without prejudice.

Verified: Florida changed its grand jury disclosure law in 2024 and the historical material was released after the law took effect.

Not established: No finding in this criminal case proves that a state prosecutor, judge, sheriff, or federal prosecutor accepted a bribe or acted from corruption.

Not established: The conviction did not determine the guilt of any potential coconspirator.

Privacy protected: This article does not identify a private survivor or use redacted fragments to reconstruct an identity.

Duplicate check: The case appears in the EpsteinWiki litigation index as the original Florida prosecution. No completed standalone EpsteinWiki article for docket 50-2006-CF-009454 was found before this article was prepared. The repeated minor related conviction belongs to the separate 2008 docket and should not generate a duplicate page here.


Questions Still Unanswered

  1. What complete list of charges did state prosecutors present to the 2006 grand jury?
  2. What legal analysis did the State Attorney’s Office prepare for each charge recommended by Palm Beach police?
  3. Why were only selected witnesses called before the grand jury?
  4. How did prosecutors decide which credibility concerns were material, and were trauma informed standards used?
  5. Why did the indictment omit any reference to the age of the people described in the investigation?
  6. What communications occurred between Krischer, Belohlavek, Epstein’s defense team, and other officials before the grand jury presentation?
  7. Did any outside person attempt to influence the state charging decision?
  8. What evidence was available to state prosecutors but not shown to the grand jury?
  9. Why did the plea hearing use only the charging language rather than a fuller factual proffer?
  10. Which survivors received actual notice of the June 30, 2008 hearing, when did they receive it, and what were they told?
  11. Why was the NPA filed under seal at the time of the plea?
  12. Who approved the final division of the 18 month sentence across two state dockets?
  13. Why did the state plea agreement omit an express prohibition on work release after federal prosecutors raised the issue?
  14. What written standards did the Sheriff’s Office use to approve Epstein for work release?
  15. Were those standards applied consistently to other convicted sexual offenders?
  16. Who verified the activities Epstein performed while outside the Stockade?
  17. What visitors, employees, or contractors had access to him during work release?
  18. Why did the federal government not resume prosecution after its prosecutor declared work release a material breach of the NPA?
  19. What final findings resulted from the 2019 Florida Department of Law Enforcement inquiry?
  20. Which state, county, and federal records remain sealed or unavailable, and which can be released without compromising survivor privacy?

Limitations

The public clerk screen is a concise summary and does not reproduce the complete docket, plea colloquy, sentencing forms, custody records, or every later filing. The OPR report supplies extensive context but is a federal professional responsibility review. It is not a substitute for every original state document.

The Palm Beach police affidavit states allegations and the affiant’s probable cause conclusion. Only the section 796.07 count was charged and adjudicated in this docket.

The 2006 grand jury material was released years after the prosecution. Its contents may illuminate the process but must be read with privacy protections and with the recognition that grand jury questioning is not a trial verdict.

Targeted searches did not locate a verified article focused on this exact docket from the established EpsteinWiki sleuth Substack sources. None has been included merely to fill a source category.


Related EpsteinWiki Pages


Sources

Previous Questions of Jurisdiction Filings
Next Subpoena Enforcement Actions
Table of Contents